{ "@context": "https://schema.org", "@type": "Organization", "url": "http://www.shaktienterprise.com/", "logo": "http://www.shaktienterprise.com/images/logo.jpg" }

Home » Languages » American Languages

North America

American English: American English is the most common language used in the United States. It is the official language of Canada and most states of the Caribbean islands.

Spanish: More than 437 million people speak Spanish as a native language, which qualifies it as second on the list of languages by a number of native speakers. It is the official language of Puerto Rico, Mexico, Cuba, and the Dominican Republic. Mexican Spanish or Latin American Spanish as spoken in the North American country of Mexico and various parts of the United States and Canada are different from Spanish as spoken in Spain. There are more than 100 million native speakers of Spanish in Mexico. Spanish is taught as the second language in areas with a large Hispanic population in South Western United States along with the borders of Mexico, Florida, parts of California and districts of Columbia, Illinois, New Jersey, and New York.

French: French is the official language of Canada and some of the states of the Caribbean. French is the mother tongue for 7.2 million Canadians, with more than 90% concentrated in Quebec. The language is widely spoken in Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Louisiana. French-speaking communities are also found in Hollywood, Miami, Florida, and New York.

German: Although more than 49 million Americans claim they have German ancestors, only 1.24 million Americans speak German at home. Many of these people are immigrants.

Polish, Italian, Arabic, Dutch, Finnish, Portuguese, Russian are other languages spoken due to immigrants from those countries in the early 20th century.

Dutch: The Dutch Language is a West Germanic language spoken by around 23 million people as a first language and by another 5 million as a second language. It is the 3rd most widely spoken Germanic language, after English and German.

Haitian Creole: Haitian Creole is a French-based creole language spoken by 10–12 million people worldwide and the only language Haitians.

French Creole: French Creole is the Official Language in Guadeloupe, Haiti, Martinique, St. Barthelemy, St. Martin, and spoken as a vernacular language in Dominica, Grenada, St.Lucia, St. Martin, St. Vincent and the Grenadines

South America

South America has twelve sovereign states – Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela

Spanish and Portuguese: Spanish and Portuguese are the two most spoken languages in South America with approximately 200 million speakers each. Spanish is the official language in most countries. Portuguese is the official language in Brazil.

English: English is the official language of Guyana and Falkland Islands.

Dutch: Dutch is the official language in Suriname.

French: French is the official language of French Guyana. French is also the second language in Amapa in Brazil.

Indigenous Languages: The three indigenous languages recognized in South America are Quechua, Aymara, and Guarani. Spanish is the National language of South America.

Other Languages: Other languages spoken in different countries of South America are Hindi, Javanese (in Suriname), Italian (in Argentina, Brazil, Columbia, Uruguay, Venezuela, Peru, and Chile) and German (in Argentina, Brazil, and Chile).

"Delivering quality, timely service and giving value for money are the essential principles on which we do business"